To Have Or Not To Have Popcorn While On A Vegan Diet o Draft

To Have Or Not To Have Popcorn While On A Vegan Diet o Draft

Can there be an option of a vegan popcorn? 

Can you enjoy your popcorn while practicing veganism?

All these questions pop up like popcorn in the hot pan when you ponder upon bringing a necessary lifestyle change like becoming a vegan. But to your concern, popcorn is vegan. You can have it even if you have resorted to veganism.

However, you will have to prepare your own vegan popcorn. If you ask, why? Let us understand it thoroughly in this article.

Popcorn Is Vegan

Well, the popcorn that you eat is vegan until it has butter or cheese. Even a slight addition of dairy products like cheese and butter makes it a non-vegan dish, which you cannot have if you have decided to follow veganism. 

But, this doesn’t mean you cannot enjoy popcorn. You can still enjoy it if you prepare it in your kitchen, replacing butter with any vegetable oil. 

To Have Or Not To Have Popcorn While On A Vegan Diet o Draft
To Have Or Not To Have Popcorn While On A Vegan Diet o Draft

Add Multiple Flavors To Your Vegan Popcorn

Whenever you visit a movie theatre, your nose is attracted by the heavenly smell of freshly puffed corn with loads of butter. So, butter is indeed the heavenly ingredient that adds flavor to your popcorn. 

But, you cannot continue eating butter if you are shifting to a vegan diet. However, you can still add the flavor to your popcorn with alternatives like nutritional yeast and sea salt. Apart from these two ingredients, you can also experiment with spices and herb present in your kitchen. 

Recipe Of Vegan Popcorn With Garlic Flavor

Ingredients For Vegan Popcorn

  1. Popcorn Kernel – 1 cup
  2. Olive Oil – 2 Tablespoons
  3. Garlic Powder – 1 teaspoon
  4. Sea Salt – as per your taste
  5. Nutritional Yeast – 1 teaspoon 

Steps For Making Vegan Popcorn

Take a heavy bottom pot and place it over medium heat. 

When the oil is hot, add olive oil and corn kernels.

Cover the pot with a transparent lid and wait for the first kernel to pop. 

As kernels start popping, shake the pot often to allow all kernels to get puffed up without burning. 

Later, when done, switch off the gas and place the pot aside. 

Meanwhile, when popcorns are resting, add all the flavoring ingredients in a bowl and mix well. 

Toss this mixture in the pot and shake well. 

To help spices coat well, add a few drops of olive oil. 

That is it! Your flavorful recipe is ready to chomp on!!

To Have Or Not To Have Popcorn While On A Vegan Diet o Draft
To Have Or Not To Have Popcorn While On A Vegan Diet o Draft

Mix Match Flavors Of Vegan Popcorn

The above recipe has garlic. But this does not mean you cannot have any other flavor. You can add other spices like ginger powder, cinnamon powder, and cloves to make gingerbread popcorn. 

Besides, you can also make Matcha Sea Salt Flavored one with a mix of sea salt, matcha powder, and powdered sugar. 

Last but not least, you can also add your BBQ powder in the popcorn to make it vegan yet flavorful. 

So, basically, it is all about your taste and cooking skills. If you have good knowledge of spices, you can make other flavorful recipes the way ones sold in the market. 

`
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter